Florida PIP Attorney

Are you a Florida medical provider struggling to receive payment for the services you provided under Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law?

At LaBovick Law Group, we understand the frustration and overwhelming nature of trying to navigate the PIP system. Don’t let insurance companies take advantage of you any longer–contact us today and let us fight for the compensation that is rightfully yours.

4.8/5
  4.8/5 in +500 Google Reviews
Free Case Evaluation all fields required *
AV Preeminent lawyer ratings
florida legal elite
Lorman distinguished faculty
FJA Member
Top5 jury verdicts 2019
top 40 under 40
Initial consultations are always free. We want to ensure that you feel confident about your case before moving forward.

At LaBovick Law Group we help Florida medical providers receive payments they are owed under PIP law

It’s unfortunate when insurance companies deny PIP benefits or attempt to lower parts of patients’ PIP coverage. This puts medical providers in an uncomfortable situation where they have provided services; yet, they have not received compensation for their care.

Insurance companies will usually do whatever they can to not pay the full amount that you’re entitled to. Having a PIP Florida lawyer can help you avoid being cheated out or only partially paid. Even though billing for PIP might be complex, you don’t have to go through the process alone. The right lawyer could be the key to a smooth process and maximum compensation.

At LaBovick Law Group, we have a dedicated department that helps medical centers and hospitals receive the PIP benefits they’re entitled to from auto insurance companies. Our team of Florida PIP lawyers will review your files for free to see if you may be owed money.

What do medical providers need to know about PIP?

As a medical provider, it is important to understand the laws and regulations surrounding PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance. PIP is a type of coverage that generally covers medical expenses and lost wages for the policyholder.

Providers need to be familiar with PIP policies and procedures, including submitting claims and obtaining prior authorization from insurers. Being knowledgeable about PIP can help ensure that patients receive the care they need without facing significant financial burdens.

How does PIP work in Florida?

Florida’s PIP insurance is required for all drivers in the state. This no-fault insurance covers medical expenses and lost wages up to $10,000 for the policyholder, regardless of who was at fault in an accident.

PIP also covers passengers in the policyholder’s vehicle, as well as pedestrians and cyclists who are injured by a covered auto. It also provides coverage for household members who do not have their PIP insurance. In cases where injuries exceed the $10,000 limit or involve serious bodily harm, individuals will not be able to charge for PIP in Florida. Nonetheless, they may file a claim against the at-fault driver’s liability insurance.

Which medical services are covered by Florida Personal Injury Protection?

Section 627.736 (1)(a) of the Florida Statutes defines which medical services are covered by PIP insurance. It covers various initial and follow-up services, including but not limited to:

  • Prescribed medication
  • Hospitalization
  • Radiography
  • Laboratory services
  • Dental treatment
  • Ambulatory treatment
  • Rehabilitation treatment
  • Chiropractic treatment
Contact the experienced Florida PIP attorneys at LaBovick Law Group to discuss the next steps.
We are here to help you!

with a LaBovick Law Group legal expert

We fight for your justice and will work tirelessly to get the best possible outcome.

How can our PIP Florida lawyers can help?

As a medical provider in Florida, it can be difficult to navigate the nuances of PIP insurance laws. At LaBovick Law Group, our dedicated PIP lawyers have extensive experience in helping medical providers receive the reimbursement they deserve. From fighting for fair compensation to negotiating with insurance companies, we are committed to protecting the interests of our clients.

Our team also stays up-to-date on the latest Florida personal injury protection laws and regulations, ensuring that we can provide knowledgeable and effective legal representation. So if you’re a medical provider looking for support with PIP claims, don’t hesitate to contact our experienced attorneys. We are ready to advocate for your rights and attain a successful outcome.

How does the PIP legal process work in Florida?

The process designed to resolve disputes between healthcare providers and insurance companies regarding reimbursement for services rendered can be a complicated one.

Following these steps can help make it smoother for you to collect your payment:

  1. Submit proof of treatment to the insurer.
  2. If they deny payment, send a letter requesting mediation with the PIP program.
  3. After disputing the error, notify them that they have 30 days to pay the claim with interest, penalty, and postage. Warn them that if otherwise, a lawsuit will be filed.
  4. During the mediation meeting, present any supporting documentation or evidence proving that payment is warranted.
  5. If a resolution cannot be reached during this meeting, you have the option to escalate the dispute to court.
  6. Contact a Florida personal injury protection lawyer. It is important to protect yourself and your practice from future issues with payers.

What are common PIP insurance denials? Defending your interests when PIP doesn’t compensate

Unfortunately, some insurance companies will do everything in their power to avoid or delay paying out PIP in Florida. This includes using many confusing and contentious tactics:

  • The 14-day rule: According to this rule, if patients didn’t get treatment within two weeks of the accident, they aren’t eligible for benefits coverage.
  • False statement: Carriers will deny a claim because the person who took out the policy (the named insured) didn’t list all the people in their household on their insurance application.
  • Interruption for medical evaluation: This happens when the insurance company requests a medical examination from an external doctor. If the doctor evaluates the patient and finds that no more treatment is necessary, the insurance company will deny any bills submitted after that determination.
  • Cap for no emergency condition: If the patient does not have an Emergency Medical Condition, the benefits will be limited to $2,500. Without proper documentation of an EMC, insurance companies commonly deny claims that exceed that amount.
  • Beneficiary exhaustion: Many insurance companies delay the payment on purpose to force them to discharge the claim.

Tips to collect PIP in Florida

To ensure that you get paid for the services you provided, we recommend taking the following steps:

  1. Make sure to collect as much data as you can, and get your documents signed at the intake.
  2. Speed is vital when billing PIP Insurance carriers. By being the first one to submit your bill, you’re more likely to get paid. Hospitals have a 30-day window to send in their bills, and at least $5,000 of the PIP funds are set aside for them; however, many doctors bill before that point. So, if you’re late with yours, the chances to collect your payment are lower.
  3. After you’ve processed your payment, always double-check that the insurance company doesn’t try to shortchange you by refusing to pay the full amount.
  4. Our Florida PIP lawyers at LaBovick Law Group are extremely knowledgeable in the law and bills. We focus on collections of PIP as well as medical billing, with a staff dedicated to this area.

Contact an experienced PIP Florida lawyer today

The PIP Florida lawyers team at our office are experts in getting insurance companies to pay their fair share of benefits that patients are entitled to.

Receiving a denial letter for a Florida PIP claim can be discouraging, especially when you have devoted critical medical care to the patient. It is important to understand that there are different types of denials, and each one requires a different course of action. Giving up should never be an option.

Contact the experienced Florida PIP lawyers at LaBovick Law Group to discuss the next steps for you.

FAQ
about Florida PIP Attorney

PIP stands for “personal injury protection” or “no-fault” coverage on auto insurance policies. This type of coverage can help pay for medical expenses and lost wages if you’re injured in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. PIP coverage is not available in all states.

No, PIP is not the same as bodily injury. The main distinction is that PIP provides coverage for any injuries you or other involved members may have sustained in the car accident. On the contrary, bodily injury (BI) protects against lawsuits resulting from a car accident for which you are held responsible. Keep in mind that BI does not compensate for your injuries.

The Florida PIP Statutes are 627.736 and 324.02. The first one requires an insurance policy that covers not only the insured, but also those who reside in their household or were involved in an accident with them–like passengers or pedestrians. The other one establishes that every self-propelled vehicle designed for use on a highway is obligated to carry the necessary insurance coverage.

In Florida, if you want to file a claim for PIP, you must adhere to some strict guidelines:

  1. Any medical treatment for injuries resulting from the car accident needs to happen within two weeks of the accident. Your claim will automatically be rejected if filed after this two-week period.
  2. Your insurer has up to 60 days total to investigate your claim thoroughly before deciding on payment.
  3. The insurer must pay out damages owed within 30 days, even if they have suspicions about fraudulent activity.
  4. If your case is not black and white, or if you’re having trouble with insurance providers, it would be beneficial to seek out a PIP Florida lawyer. In the meantime, make sure to document all of your medical expenses caused by the accident.
  5. For receiving work loss benefits, you will need to have your employer fill out a “Wage and Salary” verification. This document outlines your wages in the 13 weeks before the accident. Sometimes employers are slow to release this information, so it might be helpful to hire an attorney for assistance.
  6. If your doctor agrees that you are disabled, you may also need to provide documentation from them.
Why LaBovick Law Group?
Because with
the LaBovick
Warrior Vision
system,
we have
the proof!
We are the only lawyers tapped into every traffic camera to get immediate access to the footage.